Why I Choose To Go Against Society’s “Status Quo”

Ever since I gave my life to Christ in the Spring of 2011, my desires changed. I no longer desired to be apart of the sinful world that we are living in. From then on, I grew in my walk with Christ. Gradually over time, there were things that I did before I was saved that I could not do after I was saved. Many people asked me “Christina, are you okay? You’ve changed,” and they were right, but I changed for the better. The more I focused on Christ, the more I denied the worldly sins that have consumed many people in our society.

As I grew in my faith, I was faced with choices I would have to make. When I was a Freshman in high school, I lost a few of my dearest friends due to my faith, but that did not shake me, for God was with me and He would not let anything harm me.

     “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you.
When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned,
Nor shall the flame scorch you.” Isaiah 43:2

   No matter what storm arises, no matter who speaks against us, and no matter who walks away from us, God will never leave us or forsake us. We will not be harmed; therefore we should not fear. The fact that God will never leave me, makes me fearless and unafraid of this world. Jesus defeated the grave, so I should not fear this dying world.

A few years later, the world began to spiral out of control. It happened little by little, but by the end of 2015, society turned dark and sinful. I had many people mock me, laugh at me, and question why I don’t just “go with the flow,” but that would contradict what the Word of God says. Therefore, I rebelled against the social normality and ran to Jesus. As expected, I received feedback of moral support or persecution, but that did not stop me from worshiping my Savior. 

     “The fool has said in his heart,
There is no God.”
They are corrupt,
They have done abominable works,
There is none who does good.” Psalm 14:1

The world is full of foolish people who claim there is no God, however, those who reject Jesus calls those who believe in Jesus “fools,” “close-minded,” “out of touch with reality,” and the list continued. However, I would rather be called all of those terms and follow Christ, than be accepted by the world and be a fool in the eyes of the Lord. The severity of eternity is why I chose to deny our society. How could I willingly allow the world to continue like normal when they are are on their way to eternal punishment?

     ““You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.  Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.  Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:14-16

What good does it do you if you have the light of Jesus within you, but you hide that light by following along with society? We must let our light shine, so that the unsaved may find Jesus! The darkness is attracted to the light, and when they go searching for that light, they’ll find Jesus in the process! Therefore, in order to testify about Jesus, we must be willing to deny the world and let the light shine so others can see.

Society has drifted away from the Lord, which means more people are falling away from Jesus and others don’t even know who He is. We have to make a choice, either you deny society’s view of normality or you go along with it. There’s no such thing as “being in the middle,” for you must make a decision, so when it comes down to the wire, which choice will you make?

     For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul?” Mark 8:36

 

*Image from wonderfelle*

Leave a Reply

