The Modeling Industry Is The One Door I Thank The Lord For Closing, and I Pray It Stays Locked

When I was about 11 years old, which was two years before I accepted Christ, people told me “Christina, you should be a model!” With this in my mind, I decided I would, I began to go through the process. Though my parents were against me being a model, I was persistent on coming becoming one, and I wouldn’t stop until I began, but I was denied very early on. “Sorry, but you’re too short. We only want tall girls, not short ones.” Though I went home crying that day, I thank the Lord above that I am not a model, and I wish I would have listened to my parents. 

I do not want to be a model for I have dignity for my body. I don’t want to be that girl who’s body is photoshopped to make myself presentable for a magazine, I don’t want to be that girl who is barely clothed on billboards, and I don’t want to be that girl who doesn’t remember who she was before.

The after parties aren’t worth it because they would only be filled with alcohol, sex, and other unimaginable things. The “hot boyfriends” are not worth it, for they’d only look at me as an “attractive person who’s famous for a pretty body” rather than a human with a heart, and the money isn’t worth it. My dignity is worth more than the modeling industry could ever offer me, so why would I let them take that away?

Would I be a model today if I had the chance? No, I would not. In fact, I actually had the opportunity to model back in January, but I said “No,” because I don’t want to be paraded as a “sex symbol,” I don’t want to be the background on every man’s screen, and I don’t want to be famous for my body or my looks, instead,  I want to be known for my walk with Christ!

“But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see as man sees;[a] for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”” 1 Samuel 16:7

Our society, like always, has things wrong. They look at the body while the Lord looks at the heart. When I have a daughter or even have daughters one day, I am not going to let anyone tell them that they should be models, because I want more for them! I want my daughters to want to be godly examples, to be intelligent, to use their minds and their hearts and not their bodies, but our society likes to warp the minds of young girls at a young age. I want my daughters to find their worth in Christ, not in this world!

 “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2

As followers of Christ, we must not conform to this world, and the world is all about sex, drugs, and alcohol, which are destructive to the soul, and that includes modeling. Modeling not only destroys the body, but it also destroys your dignity for these models are letting any man see their body, which in my opinion, the only man who should see your body is your husband. 

“For bodily exercise profits a little, but godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come.” 1 Timothy 4:8

Our bodily efforts only profit a little, but godliness is beyond profitable; therefore, we must focus on our walk with Him! Though modeling seems like the “perfect career,” it is not, because you are sacrificing not only your dignity, but you are also taking your attention off of godliness and putting it only bodily profits, which is wrong.

We shouldn’t want our bodies to be what we are known for, but we should want to be known for how we dedicate our lives to Christ! We should be so passionate for Jesus, that those around us can just tell that we have Him! We won’t always be young, so with that in mind, we should be more focused on growing our walk with Christ rather than becoming something that takes our focus off of Christ.

Though this world may find “temporary pleasure” in things like modeling, we can find everlasting joy in Jesus, so we shouldn’t let society try and tempt us into things that we know are no good for us. The next time you are faced with a decision, always let your first question be “Will this please the Lord,” and then go into prayer and ask Him if that is something you should do, because when we put Christ first in all things, He will close all the doors that are destructive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

