Letting Go of Perfection And Letting Jesus Take Control

If my fifteen year old self were to read this blog post, she would probably faint or freak out. When I was fifteen, I had the mentality of “I will not stop until it’s perfect.” I would not eat until my work was perfect, I would not sleep until whatever I was doing was the way I liked, and I would beat myself up if it wasn’t perfect.

Someone ended up coming up to me one day, and they gave me a word of wisdom. “Christina, you strive for perfection when you aren’t perfect. All you’re doing is setting yourself up for your own downfall!” If you want to talk about “truth bombs,” this was one of them, and it opened my eyes.

I can now say that I am much better due to giving this issue over to the Lord. I changed my mentality into a “I will do my best” mentality instead of a mentality that can be destructive to not only me but to my health. One time when I was a sophomore in high school, I was overly stressed to the point where I was rushed to the hospital due to excessive and excruciating migraines that never stopped. I knew that what I was doing needed to stop before I found myself in deeper waters.

“My flesh and my heart fail;
But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Psalm 73:26

One day, Christ began to deal with me. Though my heart and flesh may fail, Jesus is my strength and my portion! I am not perfect, but He is! He knows all things, and I must depend on Him and not myself. I will fail each time when I try to do it on my own, but when I give Christ control, He will lead me to a future of hope.

This change didn’t come over night, for I am still working on it. I still find myself in moments where I overwork myself due to not being happy with the results, but when these moments do happen, we should take a step back, take a deep breath, and remember that Jesus is in control.

 “And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.” Galatians 6:9

Trust me, it can be hard, but like all things, it is a work in progress. All things take time, especially when you are learning to give it to the Lord and to trust Him completely. When we do not grow weary while doing good, we will reap for we didn’t lose heart! Therefore, don’t give up, but trust Christ.

Though I know this will sound repetitive due to you probably hearing this many times before, but let go and let God! This may be used a lot, but it has a powerful meaning! When we let go, we let God work in us and take over, and when we give Him our struggles, He will replace them with wisdom and blessings.

I accept the fact that I am imperfect, and there will be times where things are out of my control or where I mess up. Though I have flaws and imperfections, I give them to Christ, for He can use those to make me stronger and wiser! When we find ourselves in a situation where things aren’t going as planned, we must turn towards Christ and depend on Him, for if we try to do it alone, we will fail, but if we run to Christ, He will make sure that we do not fail, so trust Him! 

 

 

One thought on “Letting Go of Perfection And Letting Jesus Take Control

Leave a Reply

