I Want To Fall in Love With A Man Who…

I’ve got the song “Can’t Help Falling In Love” by Elivis stuck in my head due to hearing it on the radio, and it really inspired me to write this because it’s my favorite love song and it always makes me think of my future spouse. (Who couldn’t love that song? The lyrics are absolutely beautiful!)

I want to fall in love with a man who will tell me it is okay to sleep when our newborn is crying at three in the morning for he knows how tired and sleep deprived I am. I want to fall in love with a man who, when he sees me struggling and trying to keep it together, wraps me into a tight hug and tells me everything is okay. I want to fall in love with a man who will love me even when my hair begins to turn gray, my looks begin to fade, and I’m not as young as I used to be. I want to fall in love with a man who sees me as the most beautiful human being even when I have our children’s throw up all over me and my hair’s a mess.

I want to fall in love with a man who will not take his anger out on me when things begin to go wrong. I want to fall in love with a man who is cherishes my walk with Christ, and if he sees me doing something wrong, he will correct me lovingly. I want to fall in love with a man who is honest and will tell me when something is bothering him. I want to fall in love with a man who isn’t afraid to share my tears, show his feelings, and be open for even Jesus wept, so a man can cry too.

I want to fall in love with a man who has the biggest heart, who smiles constantly for he has me, and who loves our children. I want to fall in love with a man who makes time to spend with our children and doesn’t allow anything to conflict with being a father. I want to fall in love with a man who is content with just having his faith, me, our children and especially his family, and if other things begin to fall apart, he wouldn’t care for he would already have everything he asked for.

I never mentioned anything about looks, for looks do not matter. How will looks benefit me if my husband refuses to help out with raising our children? How will looks benefit me, when I’m on the verge of breaking down into tears and my husband doesn’t care? Just because he’s attractive doesn’t mean his heart is.

I don’t care about how “buff” he may be, how tall he may be, or how he looks, for none of that matters when we are married and troubles arise. His looks will fade one day, and when you take away his looks, what does he have to offer? Love is an verb, which means it has action, so love isn’t based on looks for looks is only a noun. Therefore, looks aren’t forever, but love is.

Many girls have it wrong. They look at the outer and not the inner, and one day, they will learn. Fall in love with someone who has a loving heart, a strong walk with Christ, and who will stick by you through thick and thin. It may take longer to find this type of guy, but it’s better to find the right man than that God has for you, and a man who loves deeply is a man worth waiting for.

“But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”” 1 Samuel 16:7

The Lord looks at the heart, so we should too. The Lord isn’t concerned with the outward, but He is concerned with our hearts, our walks with Him, and the love we give, so when thinking about what you want in a spouse, think about the heart and the future, for you could never go wrong when looking at one’s heart, but you can go completely wrong when you base it solely on the appearance only, for looks do not compare to ones actions; therefore, fall in love with the heart and not what is on the outside.

Leave a Reply

