What I Do Now, Will Impact My Children Later

Yesterday, I was having a conversation with my mother about my future children and how I want to be an example to them, for I know that one day they will ask me what I did and how I was at their age, so I want to live a godly life not only due to the fact that I should strive to be Christlike, but so my children will not have a reason to say “But mom, you did that so why can’t I?”

What we do now, our children will eventually do for they see nothing wrong with it if their parents do it. This is true in many cases, for I’ve seen it happen many times. The parents say “No,” the child calls them hypocrites, and the child rebels and does it anyway. With this philosophy in mind, I want to eliminate any excuses my children might use, so while I am single and not a mom yet, I will live my life godly and strive to be like Christ.

“Let us search out and examine our ways,
And turn back to the Lord;” Lamentations 3:40

Though we should want to be Christlike for His glory, we should also want to be the role models that we would want our children to be like. Therefore, I want to examine myself and see if there is anything that isn’t Christlike or that I wouldn’t want my children to do. “Is my walk with Christ where it should be?” “Is there something that I need to work on?”  or “Am I doing something that I would not want my children doing” are questions that we should examine ourselves with, and when we do that, then we can be the role models that we would want our children to follow.

“Let no one despise your youth, but be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity.” 1 Timothy 4:12

Though I am young right now, I am to be an example. Although I do not have children right now, my children will one day ask what I did when I was younger, and I want to be able to tell them that I was an example for how we should act in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, and in purity.

What you do now, will affect your children later. It will either make it easier to parent them or harder. I’m currently not a mom, so I am no expert on raising children yet, but due to seeing experiences, late night chats with my mom, and from stories that I have heard, we should watch our actions now, for they could hinder the godly principles we try to teach them later, for they will question why they should listen if you didn’t when you were younger. Therefore, make your walk with Christ your priority for not only will it strengthen your walk with Him, but it will also make raising your children a whole lot easier.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

